top of page




Data Management is the development, execution, and supervision of plans, policies, programs, and practices that control, protect, deliver, and enhance the value of data and information assets.

Information and Communications Technology refers to the technology used to manage telecommunicatio
ns, broadcast media, intelligent building management systems, audiovisual processing and transmission systems, and network-based control and monitoring functions.
IT Operations and Maintenance includes the operation and management of technology infrastructure. Examples of IT Operations and Maintenance services include, but are not limited to: Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) Support Services, Data Center Management, Email and File Server Management, IT Helpdesk / IT Support, IT Training, Mobile Device Management, PC Provisioning, Server and Device Management

IT Security / IT Workforce Augmentation, often referred to as cyber security, is the body of technologies, processes and practices designed to protect networks, computers, programs and data from attack, damage or unauthorized access.
Software Development is the process of developing software through successive phases in an orderly way. This process includes not only the actual writing of code but also the preparation of requirements and objectives, the design of what is to be coded, and confirmation that what is developed has met objectives. All software development methodologies, including Agile, are supported.

Systems Design includes the planning and designing of computer systems that integrate computer hardware, software, and communication technologies. The hardware and software components of the system may be provided by this establishment or company as part of a customized IT solution. These establishments often install the system and train and support users of the system.

In addition to the services identified in the paragraphs listed above, IT services resulting from new and emerging technologies are also within scope.


8(a) Streamlined Technology Acquisition Resource for Services (STARS) III - 8(a) STARS III is a multiple award, indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (MA/IDIQ) GWAC set aside exclusively for SBA certified 8(a) firms per Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) 19.8. 8(a) STARS III provides Federal agencies with customized IT services and IT services-based solutions*, both commercial and non-commercial, as defined in the Clinger-Cohen Act and FAR 2.101.

The primary NAICS for 8(a) STARS III is 541512 (computer systems design services). Requirements that align with other IT services NAICS codes are within the scope of the 8(a) STARS III GWAC. These NAICS codes include, but are not limited to: 541511, 541513, 541519, 518210. The contract provides two scope sub-areas for task orders requiring either emerging technology or performance outside of a CONUS location.

8(a) STARS III features include: multiple award, indefinite-delivery indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract vehicle - Five-year base with one three-year option - $50 billion program ceiling - sole source orders up to the 8(a) competitive threshold are allowed for federal civilian and Department of Defense activities (SBA offer and acceptance is required).*




Agency Benefits:

Allows for long term planning of large scale program requirements.

Allows for directed task orders under the competitive threshold. While some sole source orders are flagged as “high risk,” this is not the case with 8(a) directed orders.

Offers flexibility of contract types to mitigate risk.

Provides flexibility at the order level and facilitates integrated IT solutions.

Enables federal clients to earn 8(a) small business credit.

Saves time and money by reducing procurement lead time.

Fair opportunity process supports best value awards.

Minimizes protest risk for orders under $10 Million and supports timely order award for optimal mission support.


Ravi Bhutani – Business Development


Phone: 301.656.5001 Ext. 1006            

Fax: 301.656.5852


E-mail CIPS for 8(a) STARS II Ordering Process

bottom of page